Patrons & Directors

Patrons of The Riverwood Conservancy

Hazel McCallion

Hazel McCallion, C.M., LL.D.

Mississauga’s longest-serving mayor, Hazel McCallion, often refers to Riverwood as “the gem of the city.” Mayor McCallion has supported The Riverwood Conservancy from its original inception as the Mississauga Garden Council. Through her long and distinguished political career, she never forgot the importance of connecting the residents of Mississauga to the beauty of nature.

Mayor McCallion was first elected in November 1978, and since that first term she has been a successful candidate in 12 municipal elections; having been acclaimed twice and re-elected 10 other times. She stepped down as Mayor of Mississauga in 2014 after holding her position for 36 years.

The University of Toronto at Mississauga named its new library and academic learning centre after McCallion in appreciation of the support she offered the campus in its growth and development, and in 2010 she received an honorary doctorate degree from the university. In 2011, Sheridan College named their new Mississauga Campus in honour of McCallion, and the Peel Board of Education named Hazel McCallion Senior Public School after her.

She was named American Woman of the Year in Who's Who of American Women, as well as Woman of the Year 2001 by an international business lobby.

Frederick Ketchen

Dr. Frederick Ketchen, FCSI (Hon.)

Frederick Ketchen lived true to his saying, “you can’t just sit around and grow moss on your legs.” Fred’s fondness for Riverwood was grounded in countless days spent walking the trails, his personal connection to the Chappell family, and his attendance at political strategy meetings and Prime Minister’s visits at Chappell House.

Over his career, Fred served as Vice President of McLeod Young Weir & Company Ltd., Senior Vice President and Director of Equity Trading, Chairman of the Toronto Stock Exchange, Director of the Design Exchange, and Chairman of the Trillium Health Centre Foundation. In 2012 he received an honorary Doctorate of Laws from the University of Guelph-Humber, and was awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal by the Investment Industry Association of Canada in recognition of his extraordinary career in the Canadian Investment Industry.

Robert Bateman

Robert Bateman

Robert Bateman has been fascinated by nature since childhood, and his artwork is an outgrowth of that passion. Although always interested in art, he did not initially expect to make a living from it. He painted in his spare time while earning a living as a high school art and geography teacher. It wasn’t until the 1970s when he began receiving major recognition as an artist that he was able to paint full-time.

He is a committed environmentalist and has used his artwork to promote ecology and preservation. In 1999 he was named by the Audobon Society of Canada one of the 20th Century’s Heroes of Conservation. The Riverwood Conservancy’s mission to teach children about nature and restore the native habitat of Riverwood was a natural draw for him.

Ulrich Krull

Dr. Ulrich Krull

Ulrich (Ulli) Krull shares in a vision that Riverwood will evolve to become the central hub in our region that will teach and promote the importance of natural environments for a sustainable world. A long-time resident of Mississauga, Dr. Krull is Professor of Analytical Chemistry at the University of Toronto, and holds the endowed AstraZeneca Chair in Biotechnology. He currently serves as Vice-President of the University of Toronto and Principal of the University of Toronto Mississauga. He is also the lead editor of Analytica Chimica Acta, a prominent international journal for analytical chemistry published by Elsevier.

Dr. Krull has been recognized as one of the leading analytical chemists in Canada. His research team is exploring the use of nanoscale materials and microfluidics chip technologies to build methods for detection of DNA and RNA biomarkers, which can be applied in invasive species tracking and environmental analysis.

He has been active professionally and personally in support of environmental initiatives, ranging from teaching of environmental analytical chemistry and bringing focus to sustainability in the development of the UTM campus, to participating in tree planting with Scouts Canada. A Fellow of the Chemical Institute of Canada, he has received both the McBryde Medal and the Maxxam Award of the Canadian Society for Chemistry, the top awards for analytical chemistry research in Canada. He is also a recipient of the University of Toronto’s Faculty Excellence Award and a UTM Teaching Excellence Award.

In the evenings he can be found communing with nature, holding a telescope and camera under a dark sky, and is a long-time member of the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada.

2020-2021 Executive Committee of the Board of Directors

Carolyn Sherk
Dave Irwin
Vice Chair, Development
Kevin Sherwin
Past Chair
Heather Shaw
Vice Chair, Corporate
Tim Pickering
David Leeder
Corporate Secretary

2020-2021 Directors

Shirley Daniels
Elinor Laffey
Swaroop Dogra
Steve Hoscheit
Alan Lytle
Paul Taylor
Marc Johnson
Clement Mbulu
Amy Tjen
Charles Lun
Christina Woodward

2020-2021 Special Advisor to the Board of Directors

Ron Starr